top of page

Herbs & spice and everything nice

Updated: Aug 1, 2020


So many Indonesian dishes use a variety of herbs and spices. And the thought of going out to the shops each time you need them is enough deterent to make you change your mind when you are thinking about tonight's dinner.


Keeping a supply on hand is smart and not as much work as you think. I pretty much always have herbs ready to go ..... virtually from the freezer into the pot.




When it is time to replenish my supply I make a morning of it. I take time out to go to my local Asian grocer and choose the freshest ingredients. Clean, peel, slice and dice into the sizes you need to go into the recipes. When it is time to cook, just take what you need out of the freezer, give it a few minutes on your benchtop to defrost, and they are ready to be used.


A typically keep a supply of jahe (ginger), laos (galangal), sereh (lemon grass), jeruk purut (kaffir lime leaves), salam (Indonesian bay leaves). Check out my YouTube video's for the easiest ways to make them fit-for-freezing.

9 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page