top of page

It's all about the food

Updated: Aug 1, 2020


A proud #Indomama moment!

Woman drinking orange juice

So my daughter was at uni for a day for some lectures. She is not a particularly chatty person, but on this particular day she was speaking with a young women next to her who she didn’t know well, but had met before. For some reason they broached the subject of heritage, mothers, grandmothers, aunts, uncles and the extended family they have (if you’re lucky enough to have them you’ll know what I mean, friends who are so close you see them as family).


Now I should tell you, that although I have dark hair and a coffee-colour complexion, my daughter has inherited her father’s fair-skinned Dutch looks. So at first glance, you wouldn’t necessarily see any #Indo heritage in her appearance ..... to my slight dismay 😉.

Yet somehow, through talking about their family backgrounds there was this aha-moment.


“Oh are you Indo?” “Yes!” “Oh so am I. Do they always talk about food at your house too?”


20 views
bottom of page